Official site
label: Flying Nun Records
publicist: Marisa Handren

hi res images
hi res hi res hi res hi res hi res 

"In The Subway"
"Free All The Monsters"

"In The Subway"
"Free All The Monsters"


four paws media
four paws media
main content

How do you tell the story of The Bats?

One that began over 29-years ago in Christchurch, New Zealand. One that has included three EP's, seven albums and two compilations, numerous international tours and received gushing reviews from every corner of the music press.

Formed in 1982 by Robert Scott (The Clean) on lead vocals and guitar as well as being the chief songwriter, bassist Paul Kean (Toy Love), singer/guitarist Kaye Woodward and drummer Malcolm Grant (The Builders). Following a series of EPs, came their outstanding debut Daddy's Highway in 1987 and from there it has been a stream of acclaimed albums (Law of Things (1988), Completely Bats (1990), Fear of God (1991), Silverbeet (1993), Couchmaster (1995), 2000's best of Thousands of Tiny Luminous Spheres as At The National Grid (2005), and 2008's The Guilty Office) all the while amassing fans and friends around the world.

more >

news and press

"It's The Bat's strongest effort in years...this is a classic album from the band."
Volume Magazine/NZ Herald, 10/10

"Free All The Monsters is everything you already love about The Bats, but its so much more....My pick for Album of The Year to date."
Christchurch Press

"Their Best Work...Free All The Monsters is their most radio friendly track to date and a contender for Single of the Year."
Sunday Star Times, **** (4 Stars)

contact usfour paws media:(908) 310-1821. pob 13208, jersey city, nj 07303. usa.